Food & Kitchen

Best Grass-Fed Meat Delivery UK (2026): Boxes and Online Butchers Checked

Promising researchLast reviewed By the Longer Living Guide editorial team

Quick answer

The best grass-fed meat delivery in the UK is one with audited claims: The Green Butcher is certified organic and Pasture for Life, while Eversfield and Gazegill sell good organic boxes. A plain grass-fed label can mean just 51% grass. Whatever you buy, the NHS suggests keeping red and processed meat to about 70g a day.

Our picks

Best certified pick
The Green Butcher Diced Beef, 100% Pasture Fed (400g), image 1

The Green Butcher Diced Beef, 100% Pasture Fed (400g)

The Green Butcher

Strong research
  • • Certified organic and Pasture for Life
  • • Diced shoulder and leg for stews

Honest caveat: The current listing is a 500g pack at £9.75. It is a single cut rather than a box, and the shop is a small Twickenham butcher, so check delivery for your postcode.

£9.75

thegreenbutcher.co.uk · The Green Butcher (via Abel & Cole)

Best mixed box
Eversfield Organic Classic Organic Meat Box (serves 2), image 1

Eversfield Organic Classic Organic Meat Box (serves 2)

Eversfield Organic

Strong research
  • • 400g steak mince, 2 sirloin steaks, 450g lamb chops, 400g sausages, 2 chicken breasts
  • • Soil Association organic

Honest caveat: Organic standards allow some concentrate feed, so organic is not the same as 100% pasture-fed. There is a £35 minimum spend and free delivery only over £90.

£57.82

eversfieldorganic.co.uk

Best-value organic box
Gazegill Organics Organic Beef Essentials Box, image 1

Gazegill Organics Organic Beef Essentials Box

Gazegill Organics

Promising research
  • • 600g mince, 600g diced stewing beef, 4 burgers, 12 sausages
  • • Organic, rare-breed cattle

Honest caveat: Organic is the verified claim; the page does not state 100% pasture-fed or Pasture for Life. Sausages count as processed meat under NHS advice, so treat them as occasional.

£39.99

gazegillorganics.co.uk

Best beef variety
Edenmoor (formerly Pipers Farm) The Grass Fed Beef Box, image 1

Edenmoor (formerly Pipers Farm) The Grass Fed Beef Box

Edenmoor (formerly Pipers Farm)

Early research
  • • 2 sirloin steaks, 1kg topside, 500g mince, 250g stir-fry beef, 500ml gravy
  • • Native breeds from small family farms

Honest caveat: ’100% grass-fed’ is the brand’s own claim; we did not find Pasture for Life or organic certification for this box. At £74.60 it costs more per kilo than buying mince or diced beef alone.

£74.60

edenmoor.com

Easiest grocery add-on
Daylesford Organic Pastured British Beef Diced Braising (500g), image 1

Daylesford Organic Pastured British Beef Diced Braising (500g)

Daylesford

Promising research
  • • 500g diced braising beef
  • • Organic, native British breeds

Honest caveat: At £25.50 per kilo it is pricier than The Green Butcher’s diced beef. The Ocado page says organic but does not name the certifier or claim Pasture for Life.

£12.75

ocado.com

Budget slow-cook cut
Field & Flower Braising Beef Cut of the Week (serves 4 to 5), image 1

Field & Flower Braising Beef Cut of the Week (serves 4 to 5)

Field & Flower

Early research
  • • Rotating braising cut, serves 4 to 5
  • • Heritage and native breeds

Honest caveat: Field & Flower says its cattle spend ’at least two seasons at grass’, which is not the same as 100% grass-fed for life, and it is not organic or Pasture for Life certified. The cut changes each week.

£21.95

fieldandflower.co.uk

We may earn a commission if you buy through our links. How we choose ›

How strong is the research? What our grades mean ›
Strong research
Independent certification or lab data for the specific claim.
Promising research
The material is well supported, but there is no product-level testing.
Early research
Little independent research.
Mixed research
Research findings disagree.
£
Under £20
££
£20 to £79
£££
£80+
How we choose ›

Our picks at a glance

ProductBest forMaterial/key featurePriceEvidence grade
The Green Butcher Diced Beef, 100% Pasture FedBest certified pickPasture for Life and organic£9.75Strong
Eversfield Organic Classic Organic Meat BoxBest mixed boxSoil Association organic£57.82Strong
Gazegill Organics Organic Beef Essentials BoxBest-value organic boxOrganic, rare-breed beef£39.99Promising
Edenmoor (formerly Pipers Farm) The Grass Fed Beef BoxBest beef variety100% grass-fed (brand claim)£74.60Early
Daylesford Organic Pastured British Beef Diced BraisingEasiest to add to a grocery orderOrganic, grass and forage diet£12.75Promising
Field & Flower Braising Beef Cut of the WeekBudget slow-cook cutNative breeds, grass-reared£21.95Early

Here, the evidence grade rates how well the farming claim is verified: Strong means an independent scheme audits it; Early means it is the brand's own description.

What does "grass-fed" actually mean in the UK?

Less than you might think. According to Pasture for Life, a grass-fed label only requires 51% of the animal's diet to be grass-based under DEFRA rules, and there is no evidence such claims are policed. The rest can be cereals, manufactured feed or food by-products.

There are three levels worth knowing:

For a fuller explanation of farm labels, see our guide to UK food labels: free-range, grass-fed and wild.

How we chose

We checked each option on the brand's or retailer's live UK page in October 2026, and recorded the price and contents. We looked for:

  • Verified claims first: Pasture for Life or organic certification scored higher than self-declared grass-fed.
  • Clear sourcing: named breeds, farms or regions.
  • Practical boxes: contents you would actually cook, at a range of prices.
  • Honest wording: we marked down vague claims and noted where processed meat makes up much of a box.

Farmison, a well-known online butcher, was showing a "relaunching soon" holding page when we checked, so it is not included.

Which grass-fed meat delivery is best?

The Green Butcher Diced Beef, 100% Pasture Fed: best certified pick

The Green Butcher in Twickenham says it is a certified organic and 100% Pasture for Life approved butchery, so both claims are audited. Its diced shoulder and leg is £9.75 for the current 500g pack, the cheapest verified pasture-fed beef we found. Caveat: it is a single cut from a small butcher rather than a big box, so check delivery to your postcode.

Eversfield Organic Classic Organic Meat Box: best mixed box

Eversfield is Soil Association accredited, and this box for two mixes steak mince, two 28-day aged sirloin steaks, lamb chops, pork sausages and free-range chicken breasts for £57.82. Mixing in chicken helps keep red meat within NHS amounts. Caveat: organic is not the same as 100% pasture-fed, and there is a £35 minimum spend with free delivery only over £90.

Gazegill Organics Organic Beef Essentials Box: best-value organic box

From an organic Lancashire farm with rare-breed cattle on species-rich hay meadows, this box gives 600g mince, 600g diced stewing beef, four burgers and twelve sausages for £39.99. Caveat: the farm does not state 100% pasture-fed or Pasture for Life on the product page, and half the box is sausages and burgers, which count as processed meat.

Edenmoor (formerly Pipers Farm) The Grass Fed Beef Box: best beef variety

Pipers Farm now trades as Edenmoor. Its Grass Fed Beef Box (£74.60) includes two sirloin steaks, a 1kg topside joint, 500g mince, 250g stir-fry beef and gravy, from native-breed cattle on small family farms described as fed entirely on grass. Caveat: "100% grass-fed" is the brand's own claim; we found no Pasture for Life or organic certification for the box.

Daylesford Organic Pastured British Beef Diced Braising: easiest grocery add-on

If you shop at Ocado, Daylesford's organic diced braising beef (£12.75 for 500g) comes from native British breeds on a grass and forage-based diet, with no separate butcher delivery. Caveat: at £25.50 per kilo it costs more than The Green Butcher's diced beef, and the listing does not claim Pasture for Life.

Field & Flower Braising Beef Cut of the Week: budget slow-cook cut

Field & Flower's rotating braising cut (£21.95, serves four to five) uses heritage and native breeds and helps the butcher sell the whole carcass. Caveat: the brand says its cattle spend "at least two seasons at grass", which is not the same as 100% grass-fed for life, and it is not certified organic or Pasture for Life.

What the evidence says

ClaimEvidence gradeBest evidence
Grass-fed beef has more omega-3 and CLA (a type of fat)PromisingDaley et al. 2010 review: higher per gram of fat, but absolute amounts are small
Grass-fed beef is leanerPromisingDaley et al. 2010
Grass-fed beef improves your health compared with grain-fedEarlyNo long-term human trials comparing the two
Eating less red and processed meat lowers bowel cancer riskStrongNHS: too much red and processed meat probably increases bowel cancer risk
Pasture for Life animals are 100% pasture-fedStrongPasture for Life certification audits diet for life

Grass-fed beef does look nutritionally a little different: more omega-3 per gram of fat and slightly less fat overall. But the omega-3 in a steak is small next to a portion of oily fish, so it is not a reason to eat more red meat. The stronger reasons to choose certified pasture-fed or organic are animal welfare, farming practice and knowing what you are paying for. If organic is your main question, read is organic food worth it?.

How much red meat should you eat?

The NHS advises that if you eat more than 90g of red or processed meat a day (cooked weight), cut down to 70g. That is about 490g a week cooked, for example two or three meals. Buying better meat and eating a bit less of it fits this advice well: a £40 to £75 box can cover a household's red meat for a week or more, with chicken, fish, beans and lentils filling the gaps.

Processed meat (sausages, bacon, salami, some burgers) is the category most strongly linked to bowel cancer, so a grass-fed sausage is still a sausage. Favour whole cuts, mince and diced beef, and treat processed items as occasional.

What to avoid

  • "Grass-fed" with no detail. Ask what percentage of the diet is grass, whether animals are grain-finished, and whether any scheme audits it.
  • Boxes that are mostly sausages and burgers if your aim is a healthier diet.
  • Paying a premium for "grass-fed" imported beef when certified British pasture-fed beef is available at similar prices.
  • Big boxes you cannot store. Check freezer space before ordering; most boxes arrive chilled and should be frozen within a day or two.

Bottom line

For beef you can trust, look for Pasture for Life (100% pasture, audited) or organic (inspected, some grain allowed). The Green Butcher has both; Eversfield and Gazegill are good organic boxes; Edenmoor offers the widest grass-fed beef box on its own word. Whatever you buy, keep red and processed meat to around 70g a day.

Frequently asked questions

What does grass-fed beef mean in the UK?

+

There is no strict legal definition. Pasture for Life says a grass-fed label needs only 51% of the diet from grass under DEFRA rules, with the rest possibly cereals or by-products, and the claim is rarely checked. For a guarantee of 100% pasture for life, look for Pasture for Life certification. Organic certification is audited but allows some grain.

Is Pasture for Life the same as organic?

+

No. Pasture for Life certifies that cattle, sheep or goats ate only pasture and forage for their whole lives. Organic certification covers feed, welfare, medicines and farm inputs, but organic rules allow up to 40% of feed to be concentrates such as cereals. Some farms and butchers, including The Green Butcher, hold both.

Is grass-fed beef healthier?

+

Grass-fed beef tends to be slightly leaner, with more omega-3 and CLA per gram of fat, according to a 2010 review. But the amounts are small compared with oily fish, and there are no long-term trials showing better health outcomes. How much red and processed meat you eat matters more than whether it was grass-fed.

How much red meat is it OK to eat?

+

The NHS says that if you eat more than 90g of red or processed meat a day (cooked weight), you should cut down to 70g. That is roughly 490g a week. Eating too much red and processed meat probably increases bowel cancer risk, and processed meats like sausages and bacon are the bigger concern.

Are meat boxes cheaper than the supermarket?

+

Usually not per kilo, especially for certified pasture-fed or organic meat. But some options are close: The Green Butcher's pasture-fed organic diced beef was £9.75 for 500g when we checked, and Gazegill's organic box gives about 2kg of beef for £39.99. Watch delivery charges and minimum orders, which can add £5 to £8.

How do I find Pasture for Life meat near me?

+

Pasture for Life runs a 'where to buy' map on its website listing certified farms and approved businesses, filtered by area. Many certified farms sell direct online or at farmers' markets. When buying from a butcher, ask whether they are a Pasture for Life approved business, since only approved sellers can use the mark.

Last updated

Sources

  1. pastureforlife.org
  2. pastureforlife.org
  3. soilassociation.org
  4. gov.uk
  5. nhs.uk
  6. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. thegreenbutcher.co.uk
  8. eversfieldorganic.co.uk
  9. gazegillorganics.co.uk
  10. edenmoor.com
  11. ocado.com
  12. fieldandflower.co.uk

General information · Drawn from publicly available research, standards and certifications. Not medical advice. We describe what certifications test and what regulators say. We do not declare products safe or toxic.

We may earn a commission from some links. It never decides what we list. How we choose

Related guides in Eat